Chicago is proud to be home to over 50 James Beard Award winners. Since the first ceremony in 1991, this national award has become the most coveted honor in the world of food and beverage. Chicago is honored to host the James Beard Awards through 2027.

If you’re looking for a place to dine, this esteemed list is a good place to start.

Best Chef: Great Lakes

2022 Erick Williams, Virtue
2019 Beverly Kim and Johnny Clark, Parachute
2018 Abraham Conlon, Fat Rice (closed)
2017 Sarah Grueneberg, Monteverde
2016 Curtis Duffy, Grace (closed)
2014 Dave Beran, Next
2013 Stephanie Izard, Girl & the Goat
2012 Bruce Sherman, North Pond
2010 Koren Grieveson, Avec
2008 Carrie Nahabedian, Naha (closed)
2007 Grant Achatz, Alinea

Stephanie Izard

Outstanding Chef

2013 Paul Kahan, Blackbird (closed)
2008 Grant Achatz, Alinea
1999 Charlie Trotter, Charlie Trotter’s (closed)

1995 Rick Bayless, Topolobampo and Frontera Grill

Outstanding Restaurateur

2019 Kevin Boehm and Rob Katz, Boka Restaurant Group
2015 Donnie Madia, One Off Hospitality
2011 Richard Melman, Lettuce Entertain You Enterprises

Outstanding Restaurant

2017 Topolobampo
2007 Frontera Grill
2000 Charlie Trotter’s (closed)

Best New Restaurant

2012 Next
1996 Brasserie Jo (closed)

Rising Star Chef

2014 Jimmy Bannos Jr., The Purple Pig
2003 Grant Achatz, Trio (closed)
1998 Keith Luce, Spruce (closed)
1994 Sarah Stegner, The Dining Room, The Ritz-Carlton (closed)

Outstanding Restaurant Design (75 seats and under)

2015 Brindille

Outstanding Restaurant Design (76 seats and over)

2019 Pacific Standard Time​ (closed)
2016 Cherry Circle Room

Outstanding Pastry Chef Award

2012 Mindy Segal, HotChocolate
2001 Gale Gand, Tru (closed)

Best Chefs in America

1999 Debbie Gold

Best Chef: Midwest

2006 Shawn McClain, Spring (closed)
2005 Tony Mantuano, Spiaggia (closed)
2004 Paul Kahan, Blackbird (closed)
2002 Rick Tramonto, Tru (closed)
2000 Arun Sampanthavivat, Arun’s
1998 Sarah Stegner, The Dining Room at The Ritz-Carlton (closed)
1997 Gabino Sotelino, Ambria (closed)
1997 Roland Liccioni, Les Nomades
1995 Jean Joho, Everest (closed)
1994 Paul Bartolotta, Spiaggia (closed)
1992 Charlie Trotter, Charlie Trotter’s (closed)
1991 Rick Bayless, Topolobampo/Frontera Grill

Outstanding Baker

2019 Greg Wade, Publican Quality Bread

Outstanding Wine Program

1993 Charlie Trotter’s (closed)

Outstanding Service

2010 Grant Achatz, Alinea
2007 Rick Tramonto, Gale Gand, and Richard Melman, Tru (closed)
2002 Charlie Trotter, Charlie Trotter’s (closed)

Outstanding Bar Program

2015 The Violet Hour
2013 The Aviary

America’s Classics

2018 Sun Wah BBQ
2010 Calumet Fisheries
2008 Tufano’s Vernon Park Tap
1999 The Berghoff

For more information about the James Beard Foundation and the awards, visit