Check out Chicago's list of James Beard Award winners from year's past, which includes over 40 chefs and restaurants.

Chicago is proud to be home to over 40 James Beard Award winners. Since the first ceremony in 1991, this national award has become the most coveted honor in the world of food and beverage. 

If you're looking for a place to dine, this esteemed list is a good place to start.

Outstanding Chef Award
Chef Grant Achatz

1995 Rick Bayless, Topolobampo and Frontera Grill, Chicago
1999 Charlie Trotter, Charlie Trotter's, Chicago (closed)
2008 Grant Achatz, Alinea, Chicago
2013 Paul Kahan, Blackbird, Chicago

Outstanding Restaurateur Award

2011 Richard Melman, Lettuce Entertain You Enterprises, Chicago
2015 Donnie Madia, One Off Hospitality, Chicago

Outstanding Restaurant Award
Chef Rick Bayless

2000 Charlie Trotter's, Chicago (closed)
2007 Frontera Grill, Chicago
2017 Topolobampo, Chicago

Best New Restaurant Award

1996 Brasserie Jo, Chicago (closed)
2012 Next, Chicago

Rising Star Chef Award

1994 Sarah Stegner, The Dining Room, The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago (closed)
1998 Keith Luce, Spruce, Chicago (closed)
2003 Grant Achatz, Trio, Evanston (closed)
2014 Jimmy Bannos Jr., The Purple Pig, Chicago

Outstanding Restaurant Design (75 Seats and Under)

2015 Brindille, Chicago

Outstanding Restaurant Design (76 Seats and Over)

2016 Cherry Circle Room, Chicago

Outstanding Pastry Chef Award

2001 Gale Gand, Tru, Chicago (closed)
2012 Mindy Segal, Mindy's HotChocolate, Chicago

Best Chefs in America

1999 Debbie Gold, Chicago

Best Chef: Great Lakes
Monteverde Chef Sarah Grueneberg

2007 Grant Achatz, Alinea, Chicago
2008 Carrie Nahabedian, Naha, Chicago (closed)
2010 Koren Grieveson, Avec, Chicago
2012 Bruce Sherman, North Pond, Chicago
2013 Stephanie Izard, Girl & the Goat, Chicago
2014 Dave Beran, Next, Chicago
2016 Curtis Duffy, Grace, Chicago (closed)
2017 Sarah Grueneberg, Monteverde, Chicago
2018 Abraham Conlon, Fat Rice, Chicago

Best Chef: Midwest
Chef Tony Mantuano

1991 Rick Bayless, Topolobampo/Frontera Grill, Chicago
1992 Charlie Trotter, Charlie Trotter's, Chicago (closed)
1994 Paul Bartolotta, Spiaggia, Chicago
1995 Jean Joho, Everest/Brasserie Jo, Chicago (Brasserie Jo closed)
1997 Roland Liccioni, Les Nomades, Chicago
1997 Gabino Sotelino, Ambria, Chicago (closed)
1998 Sarah Stegner, The Dining Room at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago (closed)
2000 Arun Sampanthavivat, Arun, Chicago
2002 Rick Tramonto, Tru, Chicago
2004 Paul Kahan, Blackbird, Chicago
2005 Tony Mantuano, Spiaggia, Chicago
2006 Shawn McClain, Spring, Chicago (closed)

Outstanding Wine Program

1993 Charlie Trotter's, Chicago (closed)

Outstanding Service

2002 Charlie Trotter, Charlie Trotter's, Chicago (closed)
2007 Rick Tramonto, Gale Gand, and Richard Melman, Tru, Chicago (closed)

2010 Grant Achatz, Alinea, Chicago

Outstanding Bar Program

2013 The Aviary, Chicago
2015 The Violet Hour, Chicago

America's Classics

1999 The Berghoff, Chicago
2008 Tufano's Vernon Park Tap, Chicago
2010 Calumet Fisheries, Chicago
2018 Sun Wah, Kelly Cheng, Laura Cheng and Michael Cheng, Chicago

For more information about the James Beard Foundation and the JBF Awards, visit

Related Articles



Featured Partners