Skip to consent to cookiesSkip navigation
Chicago Federal Center


Dearborn St. between Jackson & Adams St., Chicago IL 60604

Get directions

The Chicago Federal Plaza consists of three buildings, the Everett McKinley Dirksen Building, the John C Kluczynski Building and the U.S. Post Office-Loop Station. The three buildings were primarily designed by Ludwig Mies van der Rohe and completed between 1959 and 1974. Outwardly, the Chicago Federal Center reads as many of Mies’s residential and commercial works do: as abstract and non-allusive, rather than as representational architecture. Mies’s uncompromising devotion to principle, together with his vaunted sensitivity to proportion and structural detail and, in this case, the organizational scale combines to give the complex a monumental urban presence.

More Images

Chicago Federal CenterChicago Fed CenterChicago Fed CenterChicago Fed Center

Explore hotels, flights, deals, and more

Plan your trip


CTA Newsletter

Chicago Newsletter

Stay in the know

Sign up


Visitors Guide

Start planning today

Get the guide