Skip to consent to cookiesSkip navigation
Loading Events
The Nutcracker
Dec22
  • This event has passed.
Theatre & Performing Arts

Joffrey Ballet’s The Nutcracker


This holiday season, The Joffrey Ballet celebrates the return of Tony Award®-winning choreographer Christopher Wheeldon’s magical production of The Nutcracker. Set in Chicago’s World Fair in 1893, The Nutcracker highlights the rich cultural heritage of Chicago and the wonder of the season. A beloved Chicago tradition for the entire family to enjoy, The Nutcracker will be presented at the historic Lyric Opera House, 20 North Upper Wacker Drive in downtown Chicago, in 25 performances, from December 2–27, 2023.

The Nutcracker opens as young Marie and her mother, a sculptress creating the Fair’s iconic Statue of the Republic, host a festive Christmas Eve celebration. Magic is on the horizon for young Marie and the Nutcracker Prince, thanks to a visit from the charming but mysterious Great Impresario. At the stroke of midnight on a snowy Christmas Eve, when the lines between fantasy and reality blur together, Marie sets out on an unforgettable journey through Chicago’s 1893 World’s Fair, a marvel of sights, sounds, and enchantment.

Saturday, December 2–Tuesday, December 27, 2023

Saturday, December 2 at 2:00 PM and 7:00 PM; Sunday, December 3 at 2:00 PM; Thursday, December 7 at 7:00 PM; Friday, December 8 at 7:00 PM; Saturday, December 9 at 2:00 PM and 7:00 PM; Sunday, December 10 at 2:00 PM; Thursday, December 14 at 7:00 PM; Friday, December 15 at 7:00 PM; Saturday, December 16 at 2:00 PM and 7:00 PM; Sunday, December 17 at 1:00 PM and 6:00 PM; Wednesday, December 20 at 7:00 PM; Thursday December 21 at 2:00 PM and 7:00 PM; Friday, December 22 at 2:00 PM and 7:00 PM; Saturday, December 23 at 2:00 PM and 7:00 PM; Sunday, December 24 at 2:00 PM; Tuesday, December 26 at 2:00 PM and 7:00 PM; and Wednesday, December 27 at 2:00 PM.

Box Office: Single tickets start at $36 and are available for purchase at Lyric Opera Box Office located at 20 N. Upper Wacker Dr. and by telephone at 312.386.8905, or online at joffrey.org.


Learn more about the area

Venue
Neighborhood
first-time-bean
Loop

This city center is home to some of Chicago’s most iconic attractions and architecture.

Learn more about the area

Venue
Neighborhood
first-time-bean
Loop

This city center is home to some of Chicago’s most iconic attractions and architecture.

bean-night

Explore hotels, flights, deals, and more

Plan your trip

Expedia
Expedia
Expedia
Expedia

CTA Newsletter

Chicago Newsletter

Stay in the know

Sign up

visitors_guide_2024_cover

Visitors Guide

Start planning today

Get the guide