Hear Me Roar
  • Presented By: Chicago Sinfonietta
  • Location: Chicago Symphony Center
  • Address: 220 S. Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60604
  • Dates: March 12, 2018
  • Time: 7:30 PM
  • Price: $20-$99
  • For its penultimate concert of the season, Chicago Sinfonietta places the work of leading female composers center stage with an evening-length program featuring artists from all over the word with compositions spanning nearly a century. The concert opens with the indigenous African rhythms of Price Dances in the Canebrakes by Florence Beatrice Price, the first African-American woman to have a composition played by a major orchestra, followed by the Chicago Premiere of Grammy Award and Pulitzer Prize-winning composer Jennifer Higdon’s Dance Card. The first half concludes with the Chicago Premiere of Armenian-American composer Mary Kouyoumdjian’s Become Who I Am, an exploration of gender roles and inequality featuring internationally recognized youth choir Anima Singers. The second half opens with the World Premiere of Indian-American composer Reena Esmail’s Avaaz followed by the Chicago Premiere of Dora Pejačević’s Symphony in Fm. The program ends with Grammy Award-winning composer Anna Clyne’s Masquerade, inspired by original mid-18th century promenade concerts.

Hear Me Roar
  • Location: Chicago Symphony Center
  • Address: 220 S. Michigan Ave
  • March 12, 2018
  • Chicago Symphony Center
  • $20-$99