summerdance

The sun is shining, the flowers are blooming, Chicago is buzzing with outdoor activity... it's about that time again. The 18th Annual Chicago SummerDance returns to Friday June 27 for a three month run in the Spirit of Music Garden in Grant Park. As the largest annual outdoor live music and dancing series in the U.S., SummerDance has big things - and big moves! - planned for all you Chicagoans who love to dance (and those who want to learn!)

What is SummerDance?

Presented by the Chicago Department of Cultural Affairs and Special Events (DCASE), Chicago SummerDance brings people of all ages and skill levels together on a 4,900-square-foot, open-air dance floor made of 100% recycled plastic. The series offers FREE, introductory one-hour dance lessons by professional instructors followed by live music and dancing. The diverse lineup showcases various traditional and modern dance styles from all corners of the globe.

All SummerDance programs will take place in the Spirit of Music Garden in Grant Park, which will also serve as a venue for World Music Festival Chicago 2014 on its opening weekend, September 12-14. These events will follow the Chicago SummerDance format with dance lessons and live music. World Music Festival Chicago 2014 runs Thursday, September 11 - Sunday, September 21. 

Summerdance

2014 Schedule

JUNE

Friday, June 27
Rica Obsesion (Salsa)
Latin Rhythms - Academy of Dance and Performance (Salsa)

Saturday, June 28
Chicha Libre (Surf & Psychedelic Cumbia inspired by Peruvian Cumbia from the 1960s) Chicago Dance (Cumbia)

Sunday, June 29
Steve Cooper Orchestra (Ballroom)
Arthur Murray Dance Center (Rumba, Cha -Cha)

JULY

Friday, July 4
Chicago Catz (R&B, Soul and Funk)
Dawud & Lara Shareef (Chicago Bop)

Saturday, July 5
National Steppers Society (Chicago Steppin') Ken Watkins (Chicago Steppin')

Sunday, July 6
Alan Gresik Swing Shift Orchestra (Vintage Big Band) Dance Center Chicago (Fox-Trot)

Friday, July 11
Emeline Michel (Haitian Compas and Rara with Jazz, Pop, Bossa nova and Samba) Tamboula Ethnic Dance Company (Traditional Haitian Folkloric Dances)

Saturday, July 12
Jaojoby with Razia Said (Malagasy Salegy Dance Music) Claude Zafinera and Razia Said (Malagasy Salegy Dance)

Sunday, July 13
Steve Riley & the Mamou Playboys (Cajun, Zydeco) Louie Stallone and Monica Vachlon (Cajun Two-Step and Waltz)

Friday, July 18
Ricardo Lemvo & Makina Loca (Congalese Soukous & Rumba, Cuban Son & Salsa) Dance Academy of Salsa (Mambo, Cha-Cha)

Saturday, July 19
Terrance Simien & the Zydeco Experience (Zydeco) Buddy Bates and Rebecca Unger (Zydeco)

Sunday, July 20
Cheick Hamala Diabate and His Band (Malian Ngoni Music) Kimosha P. Murphy (Dances from the African Diaspora)

Friday, July 25
SoundMinas Quintet (Brazilian Samba)
Dill Costa (Afro-Brazilian Bloco - Samba Dance)

Saturday, July 26
*Chicago House Music Party
DJ Gene Hunt (7:30 - 9 p.m.)
DJ Alan King (6 - 7:30 p.m.)

Sunday, July 27
Chicago Barn Dance Company (Country and Square Dance) Meg Dedolph (Square and Contra Dance)

AUGUST

Friday, August 8
Mambo Express (Latin Big Band Mambo)
Mixed Motion Art (Mambo, Cha-Cha)

Saturday, August 9
*Chicago House Music Party
DJ Terry Hunter (7:30 - 9 p.m.)
DJ Heather (6 - 7:30 p.m.)

Sunday, August 10
Petra van Nuis Quintet (1920s, ‘30s & ‘40s Classic Swing) Kasper Dance Studio (Fox-Trot)

Friday, August 15
The Fat Babies (1920s & ‘30s Jazz & Swing) Big City Swing (Jitterbug)

Saturday, August 16
Swing Nouveau (High-energy 1930s,'40s,'50s & ‘90s Jump Swing) Tommye Giacchino (East Coast Swing)

Sunday, August 17

Willy Torres (Salsa Dura)
Latin Street Dance Academy (Salsa, Mambo and Cha-Cha)

Friday, August 22
DJ Calvin (Chicago Steppin')
Majestic Gents (Chicago Steppin')

Saturday, August 23
Carpacho y Su Super Combo (Salsa)
May I Have This Dance (Salsa)

Sunday, August 24
Tangata Ensemble & the Kaia String Quartet (Tango and Milonga) American Tango Institute (Argentine Tango)

Friday, August 29
Funkadesi (Bollywood, Bhangra, Reggae and Funk) Bollywood Groove (Bollywood, Bhangra)

Saturday, August 30
The Hoyle Brothers (Honky-Tonk Country)
May I Have This Dance (Country Two-Step)

Sunday, August 31
Steve Anthony Orchestra (Ballroom)
Chicago Dance (Bolero, Tango)

SEPTEMBER

Friday, September 5
Joel Paterson & the Modern Sounds (1930s & ‘40s Swing) Margot Toppen and Riley Wimes, Jr. (Jitterbug)

Saturday, September 6
La Dynastia featuring Freddy Kenton (Salsa, Merengue, Bachata, Reggaeton and Latin R&B) Dance Academy of Salsa (Bachata & Merengue)

Sunday, September 7
Teddy Lee Orchestra (Ballroom)
Fred Astaire Dance Studio - West Loop (Rumba, Waltz)

Friday, September 12
Chicago World Music Festival
Dos Santos: Anti-Beat Orquesta (Pan-Latin American Cumbia) Latin Rhythms- Academy of Dance and Performance (Cumbia)

Saturday, September 13
Chicago World Music Festival
Las BomPleneras (Puerto Rican Bombazo)
Ivelisse Diaz - Bombera de Corazon (Bomba and Plena)

Sunday, September 14
Chicago World Music Festival
El Payo y La Tiranta (Rumba, Nuevo Flamenco) Ensemble Español Spanish Dance Theater (Flamenco Rumba)