Ryder Cup - Blog

As the season changed and the summer heat is replaced with a refreshing breeze in Chicago there's an incredible opportunity for golf fans to see the best players in the world. The 39th Ryder Cup will take place at Medinah Country Club from Sept. 28-30, and brings with it some events that are hole-in-one exciting.

Ryder Cup Captain & Celebrity Scramble

On Tuesday, Sept. 25, the first ever Ryder Cup Captains & Celebrity Scramble will present fans with a uniue chance to see some great Chicago sports legends and Hall of Fame golfers on the course together. Amongst the scheduled celebrities are Cubs legend Ernie Banks, Super Bowl hero Richard Dent, Blackhawks great Stan Mikita and six-time NBA champion Scottie Pippen. Joining these Hall of Famers will be celebrities like Bill Murray, Justin Timberlake, Michael Phelps and George Lopez.

These Chicago icons and celebs will play 10 holes of Medinah's Course No. 3 with past Ryder Cup Captains Ben Crenshaw, Tom Kite, Tom Lehman, Corey Pavin, Dave Stockton, Hal Sutton, Lee Trevino and Lanny Wadkins.

This event begins at 1 PM during the first day of practice rounds for the US and European teams at Medinah. Tickets are $35, and can still be purchased here.

The Main Event

The Ryder Cup spans 38 competitions over 84 years. The competition was born in 1927, when
English seed merchant Samuel Ryder commissioned the casting of a gold trophy that bears his name.  The Ryder Cup, recognized as the pre-eminent international team event in golf, has since expanded to involve the finest players of Europe.

In the inaugural matches  the U.S. Team defeated Great Britain, 9½ to 2½ in Worcester, Mass.. The United States has posted 25 victories, Great Britain/Europe has won 11 times, and there have been two ties. Europe currently has possession of the Ryder Cup trophy, thanks to a thrilling 14½-13½ victory over the United States in October 2010 in Wales.

Representing the United States this year will be the following golfers:

  • Keegan Bradley
  • Jason Dufner
  • Jim Furyk
  • Dustin Johnson
  • Zach Johnson
  • Matt Kuchar
  • Phil Mickelson
  • Webb Simpson
  • Brandt Snedeker
  • Steve Stricker
  • Bubba Watson
  • Tiger Woods

Representing Europe in the 2012 Ryder Cup will be:

  • Nicolas Colsaerts
  • Luke Donald
  • Sergio Garcia
  • Peter Hanson
  • Martin Kaymer
  • Paul Lawrie
  • Graeme McDowell
  • Rory McIlroy
  • Francesco Molinari
  • Ian Poulter
  • Justin Rose
  • Lee Westwood

The Captains for this year's Ryder Cup will be Davis Love III for the United States and José
María Olazábal for Europe. The order of play during the first two days of competition (foursomes or four-balls) is determined through mutual agreement of both teams' captains.

The Cup will be won by the players performing well in Match Play, including foursomes (two-member teams in alternate shot), four-ball (two-member teams in better ball) and singles (18 holes at match play). They will be playing Course No. 3 at Medinah, which measures 7,012 yards.

You can follow the action on Facebook & Twitter. For more information about the tournament or to buy tickets, check out RyderCup.com.