UNIQUE SPACES IN GREAT PLACES HIGHLIGHT IPW MICE TOUR

MICE Brunch group photo

During United States Travel Association's recent IPW 2014, 42 global MICE buyers, many visiting Chicago for the very first time, enjoyed a full day program of touring, site inspections and incentive activities. Meeting, incentive and congress planners were treated to a day of sightseeing and visited Chicago icons which hold special value for events and corporate incentive experiences.

The day began with brunch at City Winery Chicago - co-sponsored by United Airlines and Chicago Department of Aviation. Guests enjoyed breakfast items, music, and a guided tour of the working urban winery including its varied event spaces and large concert venue on-site.

Once on board a luxury motorcoach, attendees were told that the sky was the limit for the day's activities - and then were taken to the sky for a 360-degree panoramic view of the city from the 103rd floor Skydeck at Willis Tower and the special experience of The Ledge. Guests also visited the 99th floor event space which is ideal for groups of 300 or less.

The Field Museum of Natural History represented Chicago's vast collection of museums and was shown through the eyes of the special events team as a dramatic event venue for groups of all sizes. Behind the scenes tours in the museums make for interesting incentive activities and guests had a chance to explore dinosaur bones and handle a live tarantula.

Renowned architect Ed Uhlir hosted the group with a personal tour of Millennium Park including the Jay Pritzker Pavilion, Lurie Gardens, and iconic public art such as Cloud Gate, and Crown Fountain. Uhlir was project manager for the park's development just 10 years ago.

The tour culminated in the demonstration kitchens of restaurants moto and ING where famous chef Homaro Cantu entertained the group with a cutting edge culinary display of molecular gastronomy and other fascinating glimpses into the future of food.

Chicago is a city filled with meeting and event spaces rich in architectural history, culture, and scenery as well as special experiences only found in Chicago. For more information please contact John Curran at jcurran@choosechicago.com or visit www.choosechicago.com/meeting-professionals/

City Winery
Todd Carr, Special Event Director - todd@citywinery.com

Skydeck Chicago
ML Ferrara, Director of Sales - mferrara@theskydeck.com

Field Museum of Natural History
Megan Beckert, Director of Special Events - events@fieldmuseum.org

Millennium Park
Beth Bracco, VP of Business Development - bbracco@blueplatechicago.com

Moto Restaurant
Derrek Hull, Special Events Director - dhull@ingrestaurant.com

United Airlines
Bich-Lien Kaldahl, Sales Manager Meetings and Incentives - bich-lien.kaldahl@united.com